1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I came out and lost a friend

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by myhiddenside, Aug 6, 2016.

1. myhiddenside

myhiddenside Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi guys, I have never made any post or tell anyone that I am a homosexual, because I fear losing friends and cutting relationship ties with someone else. This is my first time actually seeking help and advice because something really bad happened, and right now I am sure that all I need is an emotional and mental support, because I start blaming myself for ever telling her (my friend).

My friend and I have been talking a lot ever since we met and we actually became "bff". We share all our secrets ranging from family problems to schoolworks and homework difficulties. But I have never come out to her because I don't feel like I have confidence and I am scared of not being able to handle her reaction.

Yesterday, I told her who I truly am. I thought she was going to be all supportive and say something like "it doesn't matter, I am glad that you have told me". Instead, it ended up with "that's a deal breaker for me, sorry we cannot be friends anymore". That was my first time telling anyone who I truly am because I felt confident and I was sure she was going to have my back. But because that happened, I don't think I have the bravery to tell anyone anything about my true self anymore, and I am so scared right now that she will spread this secret of mine around to every one else who I know, which made me super afraid of checking messages and opening Facebook etc.. I can feel that I can't handle the pain and the emotions, and I have to express them out, so I came here to seek help from every one...