1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Having trouble meeting new people and making new friends

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Knight Wilson, Aug 19, 2016.

1. Knight Wilson

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hey all. I'm a newbie here, but I was hoping someone out there would be able to help me through this rough patch.

I lost a good friend of mine because he wanted me to come out but I decided it wasn't the right time. That happened months ago, but I've been feeling really alone since then.

It's sad to say, but I don't have very many friends. The few I have tend to ignore me from time to time or cancel on me when we agree to meet up.

Since that incident with my former friend earlier this year, I've really had a hard time picking up the pieces.

I tried dating again, but I've had no luck. I went on one date and the guy sorta ghosted on me.

I went to see a therapist and joined a group for gay guys in their 20s, but that didn't work out.

I've looked into ways to meet people before and after what happened, but you hear the same old things: take a class, volunteer, pick up a sport, get a dog, join meetup.com, get a part-time job, join a club, etc. A lot of that wouldn't work out for me or hasn't.

I've looked for months for clubs, volunteer opportunities and Meetup groups, but I haven't had any luck. I tried some meetups and I didn't click with people. My parents won't let me get a dog. (I still live with them.) I tried a part-time job and didn't connect with anyone either. I'm a scrawny klutz, so sports were out from the get go.

So I'm really stuck. I feel all alone, but I can't seem to crack what would make it possible for me to connect with others. :bang: