1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Advice on someone who lied about age.

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by elyell77, Sep 1, 2016.

1. elyell77

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi All, newbie here.

I need some advice however I think I already know what people are going to say. I've been seeing a guy who I met online off and on for a few months. He had told me he was 36, two years younger than me. Long story short, I had some suspicions, did some snooping and found out he's 53! On top of that, I found out that one evening when we hung out it was actually his bday and he didn't tell me....I felt awful! I got him to fess up and I kind of let it go and told him age is just a number. Although I do believe that, the lying and deception is eating away at me! And it's not like he lied by a couple years, he lied by 18 and had me thinking I was older. I'm angry, sad, feel betrayed, etc. I'm like who is this guy and what else could he be lying about?!?!? At the same time over the last month I've really started to fall for him and I was kind of duped into falling for someone older. He's been away and isn't back until next week so I have time to flesh out my next move.

Any thoughts? I'm so flustered by this, I've been a mess!

2. faustian1

So it actually worked, as you're kind of falling for him.

It's no surprise that guys lie on hookup venues, as there is rampant ageism out there. However, it's not a good way to begin a friendship. On one hand it could be a serious self-esteem issue, and on the other it could be a systematically deceptive person.

If you feel like you are attracted to him, you should discuss this at length with him quick.

3. elyell77

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Thanks, of course in my own insecurities I'm scared he won't feel the same way or he'll be angry that I'm bringing the age thing up about feeling deceived.