1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm not myself... would six months abroad help me?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Jolly Hermione, Dec 1, 2016.

1. Jolly Hermione

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    So, I'm having problems being myself here, well not in this forum, but in my town, surrounded by people who don't know the real me. I know, I could change this very easily, by telling everyone I'm gay. That would be the easiest solution, but also the worst.

I need to give you some more information: I'm studying languages, which gives me the opportunity of going abroad for half a year. In my case I want to go to Scottland.

When I decided this, I started researching for LGBT communities, support groups, etc. and I really felt at home. I realised that maybe in another place, where I don't know anybody, I could really start all over and try to live my life with everyone knowing I'm gay.

However, my dreams could get crushed (money of course, how could it be different). I fell in a little, dark whole. I'm still trying to get out of there, but it's hard. Especially since I don't want to come out of my closet now. I'm that type of girl who wants everything under control, which means: I'm only coming out to people I know have nothing against LBGT and this needs a lot of time...

Some days I feel like buying a t-shirt that says: "I'm gay". Just so everyone knows without me telling them :bang:

My question: Do you have an idea how I can be myself again?
    Before I came out to myself as a lesbian (I first thought I was bi and this was still acceptable for me to be myself, because in theory I could live a normal life) I was myself. Now it looks like I'm falling deeper into unknown territory.

Well, do you have an idea or do you think I just have to pretend to be someone until I move out from my parents?