1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Date!

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by skittleALY, Dec 20, 2016.

1. skittleALY

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Family only
    Hi guys,

I came out to my family 2 years ago now and since then have not been on one date with a girl... Well, I finally connected with someone online & we're meeting up tonight! I'm a little nervous though as I have hardly any experience with dating. I've never been out with a girl before, and even before I came out I didn't really date boys.

So I'm 25 years old and just kind of nervous because I have no experience what so ever.

Also I told my mom & she was happy for me but had to add: "you are not out of the closet so if anyone finds out they can out you before you have a chance to yourself and I don't want that to happen to you either."

Is this just a scare tactic that my mom is doing because she's just worried about me?? Yes, I'm only out to my family but it's not like I'm going to go around announcing to people that I'm gay before I even have a relationship. In the past I was scared of other people finding out, as I was worried if it would affect my relationships and career. As of right now if I ran into someone that I know I don't know how I would handle it, as I haven't really been thinking about it. Is there even a proper way to let people other than your family know that you're gay. Do you just let them figure it out for themselves once they see that I'm (maybe) in a relationship with a girl? Is other people outing me really something to worry about??

I will say I was not thinking about that at all until my mom had to say that :icon_sad:

Any words of encouragement or advice is very much appreciated! :icon_bigg

2. Totesgaybrah

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone