1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

This girl is so confusing. Help me!

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by stitch, Jan 8, 2017.

1. stitch

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    First time poster here-- I figured I have spent enough time reading through this site and thought it was about time to reach out to this lovely community.

I am a lesbian student at a women's college (a very LGBT friendly place). I am on a sports team and at the start of the semester, I developed a crush on one of my teammates, but I wasn't sure of her sexual orientation-- she looks straight and is a relatively shy and private person. On the contrary, I am an open and outgoing person whom everyone knows is lesbian. Still, something intuitively kept telling me that this girl might not be straight and that I shouldn't throw my hopes away yet.

As time went on we talked to each other more and more. She would find excuses to talk to me and I started to cautiously flirt with her in very subtle ways. During group conversations with more of our energetic and enthusiastic teammates (who mostly talk over her), I would occasionally catch her quietly make a "gay" comment-- for instance, we were all talking about characters we would have sex with on a TV show and she named two women-- but then when I would bring it up in our private conversations later, she would completely ignore it and/or change the subject.