1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ninth grader dating an eighth grader

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by shakespeare, Jan 26, 2017.

1. shakespeare

i'm a freshman in high school, and there's an eighth grader at my school (k-12) that i went on a date with and really like. and while i feel like there's nothing wrong with a. sophomore dating a freshman, somehow i feel kind of icky or predatorial that i'm a freshman and she's an eighth grader, if that makes sense? the age difference is only a year, and considering the limited options for queer girls there are, it's hard to find a date your own age. however, my friends think it's weird and i'm just concerned that this is inherently an unhealthy/inappropriate relationship, even though we both like each other. should i tell her we can't go out anymore? should i explain the situation to my friends? is the age difference a bad thing? please help!

2. HM03

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I don't think a one year gap would be that big of a deal. I honestly don't remember there being that big of a maturity gap from grade 8 to grade 9.

3. Totesgaybrah

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    The one grade difference is fine but if you are a mature 15 yo and she is an immature 13 yo then I can see how there could be a big difference in maturity. As long as nothing really sexual is going on then it should be ok.

4. Sarkzar

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian