1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

'm out on one small corner of the web and I don't feel ready to change that

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Ara, Feb 8, 2017.

1. Ara

Ara

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I'm an artist, or at least I'm trying to be, and nowadays social media is really important to pursuing that. Thing is, I'm out on one small corner of the web and I don't feel ready to change that. I'm cool with most of the internet knowing I'm gay but I've yet to work up the nerve to come out to anyone IRL.

My current set up with social media is, I have a tumblr that's not really connected to my name where I'm open about my orientation (where I post my art), an instagram that's just my art, and a facebook that I never really use (the only one with my real name).

I've considered a couple of different ways to deal with this but none of them really seem great. Like, I could just not use tumblr for art, but it would suck to not be able to the platform I like best and am most comfortable using. I'm invested in the art community on social media and prefer not to miss out on trying to keep up a veneer of anonymity.

And Honestly even then some of the art itself might at least some suspicions (all my shippy fan-art is of gay couples and most of those are wlw, stuff like that) but I'd hate want to not make or share art thing that I like and care about.

Basically, it's all very frustrating. I always feel paranoid about getting found out and I feel like no matter what I do I'm going to losing something Important to me. Any Advice?

2. I'm gay

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi Ara,