1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Work through things or end the relationship? Help!

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by rcphill, Mar 12, 2017.

1. rcphill

Here is a little about our relationship. I'm 5 years older than my partner. When we first met, I was in school full time and she was employed. Even though I didn't have an income, I tried to contribute to date nights and fun activities as best I could. I didn't expect her to fully support me just because she had more money than I did. I used my student loan money to contribute. Once I graduated, we took the step of moving out of state together for a job opportunity I was given. Now, the tables have turned. She is back in school full time and does not have a job. She receives a small supplemental income, enough to cover a portion of the bills (though I spend about 650$ more on the rent than she does) with a little left over. Ever since this change, I have been the one to pay for 90% of date nights or activities as well as vacations. I want us to have fun together and make memories, and I know if I don't pay for the vacations we will never go on them. The thing is, she is in class one day a week (granted she is taking a large number of credit hours) and she totally could have a part time job. She just doesn't want to.