1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Depressed about roommates

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by The Dude, Feb 27, 2013.

1. The Dude

So I'm a freshman in college. I struggle making friends this year, but this doesn't really bother me. I have a real tight knit group of friends at my home (we went to different colleges) but I see them often enough, and we're always texting and keeping tabs, playing video games, etc so this doesn't bother me. Next year in September I hope to be out to them and my family, and I predict everything will go smoothly, relative to some of the other stories I've read on here. My goal is that by next August/semester and hopefully I'll be courageous enough to join the college's Queer Union, and ideally I'll meet people that way.

Everybody at my school is working on their housing for next year, and for me it seem that I'll be living on campus, whether in a dorm again or an on-campus apartment. The point is, I'll be living with new people which is fine. But coming out to them really sucks and I have no idea what to do about it. I don't know who these people are, and might not for a few months. Its just the most depressing part about coming out to myself. I feel like this situation is going to really hold me back, knowing that I'll have to deal with this, even if it is down the road. I sign up for housing over the next few days, and that's why I'm worried about it now. It sounds stupid when I write it, but this really stresses me out, and honestly not a whole lot else does. If only I had a few people to live with who wouldn't care, but that's not the case...

Anybody been in a similar situation?

---------- Post added 27th Feb 2013 at 11:24 AM ----------

I'm an idiot, this should be in the support/advice section

2. Chloe

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people