1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Establishing my Independence....

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by thekspot, Mar 20, 2013.

1. thekspot

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey everyone, I have been struggling with this problem for years, and I need advice, I thought this would be a great place to post and get some feedback on my situation.

I am an unemployed teacher at the moment, its quite hard finding a job in my area. I have been hired in the UK for a teaching position, which is what I really want to do. I think it would be great for me as I can live independently and start living my own life. My mom is aware that I am gay but my dad is not, and I see this as a good opportunity to start living outside of the house and on my own.

The thing is my parents are a bit off and on about the idea. My parents supported me and my move up until things got real then told me not to go. My mom has an anxiety condition and she kind of guilts me into staying. I really want to go and know that moving away is the best thing for me in my position. However I don't want to be a bad son and I know my mom will worry about me. I know what I have to do but I do not know exactly how to go about doing it.

Thoughts, help, feedback ... anything

2. TwoMethod

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Look, this is your time. The only thing I can say is that you are not being a bad son by moving away. Your parents are really wrong to me holding you back.

You can phone your mom every night, and you can come visit every couple of weekends.