1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Feeling kind of down lately...

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Mytchii, Mar 21, 2013.

1. Mytchii

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hey there! I'm new to EC. I've been looking for a place like this for a while and I'm glad I've finally found it!

Not sure how to begin, but here goes. I'll be turning 23 in September, which has recently got me thinking about where my life is going. I grew up in NYC and when I was 17 my family moved out to MI. I didn't fully accept myself until I was 18 going on 19, when I came out to one of my best friends. I met a guy that summer (let's call him John). John was my first "real" kiss (I kissed a girl at 15 or so playing truth or dare; didn't count) and we dated for a few weeks. Things moved kind of quickly and we got intimate. I thought things were going well and then I was broken up with over a text message. Deciding to try to find out why, I called and we spoke. The response was utterly devastating (for my 18 year old self anyway, looking back it sucked but, eh, his loss). He told me I was too feminine for him. I don't consider myself femme by any means. I may not be into sports or cars but I'm still pretty masculine. Regardless, I was devastated.