1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best friend is gay too... Can we date?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by spartan13, Apr 2, 2013.

1. spartan13

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I'm really new to this, and really need advice. I just came out as a gay man (22 years old), and I told my best friend first (23 year old man). He responded by telling me he is gay too! What a relief....

I have told several others over the past few days, and am getting more comfortable everyday. My friend is also in the process of coming out to others.

We have been best friends for a few years. We have a ton in common, and really enjoy eachother's company. Without a doubt, I have more of a connection with him compared to any friend I've ever had.

I have hooked up with a few guys over the years, and he still has never tried anything with a guy (but he is 100% sure he is gay).

HERE IS WHERE I NEED ADVICE:
    I think I might be in love with my friend... I have been attracted to him for a long time, and we have so much in common. My fear is that he views me more as a brother than a lover. I doubt he even suspects I have such strong feelings for him. What should I do? Start flirting with him after all these years? Tell him how I feel? Try and hookup after going to a bar? I NEVER want to loose him being a part of my life, but I also know that I would love for him to want to be more than friends.

Keep in mind, we are both just starting to come out.... Still very new.

What should I do?

2. LD579

Tread lightly here. You don't want to ruin your friendship.

I'll say this: there are other gay guys out there. I wouldn't suggest that you just go after your friend because you like him a lot, you're friends, and he's also gay. There's more at risk, as I'm sure you know.