1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Keeping an ex as a friend?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by LibraryKitten, Apr 27, 2013.

1. LibraryKitten

Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey, I'm new around EC. =) This is probably going to be a long post, so I apologize in advance, and I'll try not to add too many personal details. I'd really appreciate some outside perspective on this... There is a tl;dr section at the bottom, too, just in case.

I'm a freshman in college, about to finish the school year. Last semester, I started the year with the intention of focusing on my studies, without planning on getting involved in any romance. But about halfway through the semester, one of my close college friends told me he liked me, and I thought he was a sweet guy, so I agreed to date him. Once I let myself really look at him, I fell for him hard, and quickly. He seemed like such a sweet, deep guy.

He was my first serious relationship, and what I felt for him was the deepest connection I have ever felt with another human being, and it caught me by surprise. So by the end of the first semester (during finals week, I should add... I'm really not proud of that, haha) I gave him my virginity. He was always more physically expressive than I was, and that was what he wanted, so I wanted him to have it. I never let him know it, but giving him that part of me was a particularly big deal for me, because I have some deep trust issues.