1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panicking about First Date

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by AaronMed, Jun 2, 2013.

1. AaronMed

Hey guys,

Okay, so I'm deep in the closet (though coming out to my psychiatrist soon if that counts :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:), and I'm going on my first date ever with this awesome guy I've been texting for a couple months, we'll call him Sebastian. And he's awesome in pretty much every way.

I'm from Stoney Creek and he's from Toronto, which is about an hour away. I'm going to him, and the way I'm pulling it off is by saying to my parents that I want to tour the University of Toronto in case I want to do a research job there next year. I've never blatantly lied to them in my life, and that bothers me a lot, but that's not the point.

The point is, I'm really, really anxious. I have really low self esteem, and every time I think about dating him, I always either think that he'll reject me or that if he doesn't reject me, I'm somehow taking advantage of him because my brain tells me that he deserves someone better than me :frowning2:. The first is definitely not true, and he's said on more than one occasion that he doesn't ever judge based on looks, and I totally believe him (it's hard to lie to someone for three months). I think he's genuinely attracted to me, and I'm sure as hell attracted to him, but I keep thinking that I'm inadequate and that he could do so much better.

How do I get over that?

Oh, and another small thing is that I don't have any friends I can tell about my date, and I can't tell me parents, but I know that for safety I should tell someone where I'm going... I'm meeting him in a well-populated coffee shop though, so how necessary is this?

#1 AaronMed, Jun 2, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2013
  2. Gravity

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone