1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I cancel my date?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Kgirl, Jun 16, 2013.

1. Kgirl

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I had 2 dates with a girl and really like her. But nothing happened, not even a kiss! I've never kissed a girl before so I was hoping she'd make a move, but it was only when she had walked me back to the train station that she strongly hinted she wanted me to make a move, but by that time I proper freaked out because there were so many people around etc and I'm still new to this. I still really hoped that she'd try to kiss me or something but she didn't. I got on the train thinking I'd effed up, and she didn't text me back after that.

I later met someone else online and have arranged to meet this weekend. She is really nice and will be travelling white a way to see me, but I'm not sure there is a spark. I know it's hard to know this without meeting up, but even online there's no flirting etc and it feels more like a friendship. I'm worried I just arranged to meet her because I'm still feeling down about the first girl, and when the first girl sent me a casual text recently (not asking to meet or anything), I still felt butterflies. Should I cancel my date with the new girl or give it a chance?

2. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I would say that in matters of the heart, there is no substitute for meeting someone face-to-face. The written word is mediated, you are working only with symbols on a screen. No matter how much you try, you will never get to the essence of that person without at least meeting her.

I would recommend not cancelling the date, but a date is just that, it doesn't mean a relationship has to develop, you are just meeting to get a clearer idea of who this person is.