The "Straight" Guy Shuffle

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by SevenDevils, Jul 1, 2013.

1. SevenDevils

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Is he really straight? Am I misreading the signals? Is he in denial? How do I deal with this? I don't know that there's any more common refrain in the "Relationships" forum! I've been surfing the forums here on Empty Closets for around two months now, and it's been heartening to see that I am far from the only person, out or closeted, dealing with mixed signals from a same-sex, heterosexual friend. My own situation has taken a lot of difficult and confusing twists recently, and though I've semi-enjoyed the weeks of constantly crying, listening to Kelly Clarkson, and watching Friday Night Lights, I'm hoping that the droves of readers going through or already past similar situations can help me to gain some perspective and learn to better manage this friendship.

I will definitely do my best to be concise, but rambling is a fatal flaw of mine, so I thank those of you that slog through this post and apologize for my verbosity :icon_bigg

So for background, I am 23 years old, and totally out of the closet, so there is no ambiguity about my sexuality to any of my friends. I have never been in a relationship of any sort (which is getting pretty depressing at my age!), though not for lack of trying. I'm in graduate school, and have spent the last two years of my life without any gay friends (another depressing little tidbit!). About 18 months ago I met...let's call him Patrick, an extremely effeminate fellow grad student who presents a few signs of being gay (walk; gesturing; stance - always with a hip cocked; sitting posture - usually with legs crossed like a woman; voice/speech patterns, etc. I'm not meaning to perpetuate stereotypes here, but I noticed most of these things as soon as I meet him, and these are what initially made me think he might be an option).