1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Name That Quotation!

Discussion in 'Fun and Games' started by Doctor Faustus, Dec 7, 2011.

1. Doctor Faustus

The first poster provides a quotation from someone or somewhere, real or fictional, living or dead. The next poster must figure out who said that quotation and/or where it is found while also providing a mystery quotation of their own.

I'll start with a relatively easy one:

"To be or not to be, that is the question.
    Whether 'tis nobler in the mind to suffer
    The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune..."

2. Sartoris

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hamlet

Hmmm, I'm not good with quotations off the top of my head [let alone one a person could easily guess.] :\

"Loafe with me on the grass . . . . loose the stop from your / throat, / Not wrds, not music or rhyme I want . . . . not custom or lecture, not even the best, / Only the lull I like, the hum of your valved voice."

3. Aeon Magus

Leaves of Grass - Walt Whitman

" God does not play dice with the universe; He plays an ineffable game of his own devising, which might be compared, from the perspective of any of the other players, to being involved in an obscure and complex version of poker in a pitch dark room, with blank cards, for infinite stakes, with a dealer who won’t tell you the rules, and who smiles all the time. "

4. Doctor Faustus

Albert Einstein.