1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The difference between sex and gender?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Robert, Oct 25, 2013.

1. Robert

Robert Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    What is it?

2. Make me a girl

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Sex is physiological characteristics, ie. genitals, chromosomes. Gender is a more nebulous psychological concept about what you identify with best.
    bad explanation but meh.

3. Just Jess

Well the old saying goes, sex is what's between the legs, gender is what's between the ears.

Gender's pretty complicated though. There's a lot that's hormonal, a lot that's learned, and no easy way to tell the difference.

4. Kailey88

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    I have a degree in Gender and Sexuality Studies. Technically, both are simply social constructs designed to categorize everyone -- which is awful; however, there are pros to the distinction particularly for trans people.

Fe/male, hermaphrodite, etc. are the scientific terms for genitalia or "sex" which means nothing more than what is between your legs.

Girl/boy, wo/man are gender terms because they signify ages of the sexes. There are many complaints out there about the incorrect, and frequently use of "girl." "Girl" actually means a prepubescent female, yet males are rarely referred to as "boys" after they are considered adults.

Frankly, gender can never be genuinely defined because it is created as a control tool for the sexes. Females should be "feminine" which means "soft" in every way: physically and mentally. Males should be "masculine" which means "rough." Nobody really fits completely into either of these categories, but they are designed to oppress. Gender studies is much more than just women's rights because it examines gender expectations for males as well.