1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gender Identity Crisis--Help!

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by chrisables, Dec 22, 2013.

1. chrisables

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey everyone,

I thought I'd put this out there to get some insight from the collective group. Sorry for it being so long but I wanted to clarify the situation. So the situation is this, about 2 months ago, its seems like out of the blue I was suddenly hit with a strange and scary gender identity crisis. The backstory is, I'm a 31 year old gay man living in L.A. who is out for the past 8 years and I'm out to everyone in my life. I was born and raised in Texas by a single mother due to my viciously abusive and alcoholic father who abandoned us when I was 8 (pretty classic). I'm an artist by trade. Like most gay men and/or artists, I also struggle with depression, anxiety and a small form of OCD.

About 2 months ago, I was casually reading an article on the Huffington Post's Gay Blog section written by a man who wrote about struggling with his masculinity. At the very end of the article he suddenly talks about his decision to transition into being a woman. I was blindsided by this and left feeling uncomfortable because for the majority of the article, I related to what he spoke of in many ways.