1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

50 bigender? and mixed up.

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Shawn63, Dec 23, 2013.

1. Shawn63

Hello all, I've never used a forum before, so forgive me if I'm doing this incorrectly, and let me know what's right please.

I originally posted this in the introduction section, but I'm told this would be a better place for it.

I'm Shawn. I'm 50. I'm somewhere in the middle as far as gender is concerned, and I never heard of anyone like that until a few weeks ago.

Then I heard about "genderqueer". At first I couldn't relate. I didn't understand. I didn't know the difference between gender and sex and sexuality. Man vs. male, vs hetero/homo sexual.

I see young people embracing a full spectrum of gender in lots of different ways. Frankly I'm jealous.

I've felt forced into the "MAN" mold for so long, and I've been acting the part and repressing who I really am for so long. So long that I don't know how to stop. I just slip into "character".

I'm the "man" for my wife and kids. I'm the "man" at work where I run a dept.

I want to do my job and be a marriage partner and parent, without being a "man". And I don't want to be a woman either.

Frankly I'm lost right now. I'm still learning and trying to find my way.

I'm looking for communities or people that can help me understand. To help me figure out how to be, without losing everything, and everyone, that knows the "man" I pretend to be.

Any words of wisdom are welcome.

Thanks for taking the time!

Thanks
    Shawn

2. suninthesky

Hey, I just wanted to say that I understand the jealousy. I know, I'm still young, but hear me out -