1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

So I have a few questions...

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by ArcticPixie, Jan 13, 2014.

1. ArcticPixie

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight but curious
    So ive been thinking and fretting on whether I wuld want to go all the way and get a sex change, and i've decided that I am going to go on hormones as soon as I can.

Now here are the questions:

1. How fast do the physical changes occur? (basically until people will start questioning ur gender)

2. How would/did u guys tell ur current employer?

I want to know physical changes becoz im a lifeguard and swimming teacher, and that means i will not be able to hide breasts, or any major physical change for that matter, at all. I know i will have to quit my job eventually, I guess I just want to know how far along in the treatment that will be.

I also would like to know because it will be one of the first things my parents ask when I tell them im transgender: "Wat about your job?"

2. BookDragon

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I don't know the specifics about Australia's health rules or anything, but I find it quite unlikely that you'd even GET hormones (unless you self medicated and PLEASE don't do that) before you transitioned socially, so I would think hiding hormonal changes would be the least of your worries.

I won't comment on the speed of any physical changes 'cause I have no experience with them yet, but I will parrot something I've heard a lot. "It varies from person to person".

As for telling your job, again I don't know anything about Australian law, so I don't know if trans people have the same protections I am supposed to have here. I do wonder why you will HAVE to quite your job eventually...will they force you or do you just never want them to know about it?

3. ArcticPixie

Sexual Orientation: