1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hella Confused

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by StarBoi, Jan 13, 2014.

1. StarBoi

Out Status:
    A few people
    ...and I just don't know who to talk to about it.

Kind of a long story, and I don't want to bore you all with EVERY little detail so... let me see if I can summarize.

I've always been a little awkward when it comes to gender. My mom tells me I was horrible to try to buy clothes for, as I rejected pretty much everything she tried to suggest and refused to tell her what I liked. I think I just thought everything either looked wrong on me or wasn't my style, but didn't really have any idea what "my style" actually was.

After I graduated highschool and moved out on my own, things really took a turn for the better. I had been pretty obese in highschool, but I started taking care of myself in a more positive way, and started kind of exploring my more masculine side. I was really active on a forum for crossplay, as well as a forum for gay gamers, and presented as male online on a couple other sites. It...felt really good. Like really really good, especially knowing I was convincing. Other than the crossplay forum, no one had any idea I was genetically female.

Skip ahead a couple years... went to college, met my current boyfriend, and suddenly everything got really complicated... I was honest that I liked crossdressing when we got together, but I didn't really go into it more than that because I was still kind of unsure what my gender identity was. The first couple of years there were no problems, but the longer we were together the more I started to feel like I had to conform to a feminine identity... and I don't mean he was pressuring me to or anything, just... he's a straight guy. He likes VERY feminine looking girls. And the more I liked him, the more I started to fear I wasn't adequate and I would lose him...