1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The problem with gender neutral names...

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by FightingShadows, Feb 25, 2014.

1. FightingShadows

...is when little old ladies ask if it's a shortening of the female name.
    I work in retail and my nametag says Alex. And, I'm proud to say not many, but there have been a few instances where some old lady will come up to me and go, "Alex, is that short for Alex...andra?" They usually sound unsure on the last part because I pass about 50/50. But it's enough to get me all riled up and anxious so I stand there like, "Uh, um, er..." and in that short few seconds I think, "Should I tell her it's actually Alexander that way she feels horrible for misgendering me? But obviously I don't pass to her so what if she starts arguing with me about my gender? I wish I could get over this and just be like, "Listen, bitch..." (not really!) But just say that actually Alex is a shortening for the male name. I don't know why I get all nervous about it. In my head, I feel like I could do it no problem, but when it actually happens then I become a stuttering awkward mess.
    So, to my trans brothers and sisters who've chosen gender neutral names, has this ever happened to you? Have you ever felt like this? How did you get over it?

2. Robert

Robert Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    "No ma'am. Its just plain old Alex :slight_smile:" Then move on from there by asking a work related question e.g. Would you like any extra bags? Anything else i can help you with? Have a nice day! ETC

Or you could be more confrontational but its up to you really :slight_smile:

3. Nick07

What Robert said would probably be ideal :slight_smile: