1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dating...while trans

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by drwinchester, Apr 17, 2014.

1. drwinchester

drwinchester Guest

So. Maybe not smartest move at this time in my life but anyway- I want to get myself out there. Dating market, you know?

Problem is... I have no experience and I'm trans. Which works against me. Really kinda demoralizing to want to date and then realize it's gonna be a hardsell with other queer guys and straight or bi women.

What's worse is when I like someone and I realize they'd never be into someone like me. Or they're long distance and I dunno if that'd work out. I've done long distance before...

So what do you do when you're queer, you live in a crappy small town, and your options are already slim?

2. PeytonRose

I guess I'm in the same boat. I'd love to be in a relationship but I have no idea how to even start at the dating game as a trans woman. My therapist thinks online dating is the way for me to go and wants me to keep my profile active. I actually remade my profile on one of the free sites so I can come out to the site as trans. I didn't have much luck with it to begin with but we'll see what happens now.

I would suggest some free dating sites and just be open and honest with anyone that seems interested. Respectful questions tolerated stupid crap isn't. It's pretty much my plan at the moment.

Good luck!

3. AudreyB

AudreyB Guest

Mind if I merely echo your question to others (except I live in a not-so-crappy big city)?

*thread piggyback*

4. wolfxinxchains

Alrighty friend (May I call you that? lol) I'm returning a favor since you were being awesomely nice about my post and you're an awesome person, SOOO I'm gonna try to help you.

1. I am currently in a relationship with a guy, and I decided I was trans while we were dating so for me it's a bit different.