1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

So where do I go from here?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by DerScott, May 7, 2014.

1. DerScott

Hi everyone, I am not very good at this but I'll try:

It took me a long time to work up the courage, but at the urging of a close friend, I saw a counselor about some questions I had about myself. We talked and then I spent almost two sessions with bubble tests with him. Anyway, he gave me the results of the tests and his analysis. He said I have "gender dysphoria" and anxiety about it. To the best of my knowledge, he never asked me directly when we met about this.

To see me, I am male; and really thought I would come away with a diagnosis of having a fun, occasional fetish. This is something completely different.

Does this mean that I will never be happy unless I take hormones, have surgery and live as a woman full-time? I know there's lots of information out there but I hesitate to read too much on the internet because I don't know what's credible.

I'm not depressed or anything, just perplexed and not really sure where to go with this. I have a professional career and would rather nobody really know about any of this. It might be different if I could move 1000 miles away, have some kind of non-office career and not worry about these things. But I can't. And oh, to make matters more complicated, I am married.

To those of you that have any similar experiences with issues/challenges, etc like this, I would love to know how you managed? I didn't really know what to ask him yet.

I thought this may be a good place to start. I even made Trinity my avatar; she's pretty hot. lol Anyway, he told me to stay positive, so I am. Thanks in advance,

2. BookDragon

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Wait, he did WHAT?