1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scared to come out

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by jesseve, May 20, 2014.

1. jesseve

Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hi, I'm a 23-year old law student who's frightened of coming out as trans.

When I was young, I used to pray to God repeatedly for my body to transform into a girl's body. I was really disappointed that my body remained male, while my brain was undoubtedly female.

I hated having my male genitals, and even tried to damage them. I hated going to the barber to have my hair cut short. As I grew older and underwent puberty, I was distraught at my deepened voice and hairy legs.

I am sure that I am a girl trapped in a male body. I have hidden my gender identity from everyone, including family and friends. Now, my gender dysphoria has reached a peak. I have even considered meeting a doctor and getting hormones to start my transition.

However, I have this dilemma within me. I am afraid of what people will think of me if I transition, especially my friends and family. My family is Christian and conservative, so I am afraid that they won't accept me as a girl.

I personally believe that there's nothing wrong with being trans. I didn't choose to be trans, and I certainly can't stop being trans no matter how hard I try. However, I am scared and feel as though I can't tell my family and friends how I really feel.

Now, I'm desperate. Help! :confused:

2. Gates

Gates Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey,