1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Legality, Name, Expression

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Bettykins, May 28, 2014.

1. Bettykins

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey peeps.

Here's the story. I am in the process of legally changing my last name. I am a graduate student (Master's/hopeful PhD candidate) who doesn't want her work to be associated with her biological father's family name - since I have no ties with that family. This way, I can be comfortable publishing in academic journals, my thesis, and advancing my academic career using my gender last name (and this part of my identity).

However, while I am in the process of changing this part of my identity, I am ALSO considering the legal change of my first name. I figure that it would give me a sense of power over my identity, since my legal identity and gender identity would be one in the same; only my sex would not match these (and this is really a small issue, my "sex" no longer would require a name, right?)

Or would it? My only worry is ramifications for being hired still presenting as male and being sexually male with a legally female name.

Also, the ramifications of my parents. While they do say they accept who and what I am; their behaviour does belie the fact that they treat me as male and identify me as a son.

Such a confusing thing! HELP! I really want to do this, but I'm worried about the ramifications.

2. BookDragon

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Since when are names gendered 'legally'...

3. Bettykins

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone