1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New and confused

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Dell, May 31, 2014.

1. Dell

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm new to this whole thing and i'm a little lost and confused and i thought this might be a place to start looking for answers. I am a male, 17 soon to be 18, and i have started to have some serious thoughts that I might be transgender. I have always felt different and never really had any guy friends, I have only ever been able to relate to girls. I have been mistaken for being gay but I have only ever liked women. I have been told i'm feminine before and never had a problem with it. I currently hate my male attributes as subtle as they are i still look male. I was raised on the idea, by a very religious family, that because i have a penis that i am a guy and i should act like one. But i never cared about gender and i was always my self, even though i knew something wasn't right about me. Over the internet i learned what LGBT was but never really thought much about it. I grew a beard to try and be more masculine. But one day I cut my hair and shaved my beard and i looked my self and i looked extremely feminine and i truthfully liked what i saw. my friends joked around saying i would make a really pretty girl and came up with a female deviation of my name. I thought a lot after that day and here i am looking on the internet for answers and guidance. I'm not sure what to do and if i would like to go by a female pronoun and what not. I'm feeling conflicted about who i always tried to be and how i feel now, which is hating how i am and wanting to express myself as a female maybe. I'm confused and I would love any help from more experience people.

2. ConfusedAtHeart

Welcome to EC, I hope we can help you on your journey of self discovery.