1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Feeling helpless (bisexual with gender issues)

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Minotauro, Jun 1, 2014.

1. Minotauro

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Hi everyone!

I'm seeking for some serious help and advice how to deal with my situation, life and my depression. First of all I think it should be important to provide some information about my situation.

At the moment I am 28 yo man who has had a breakup (a year ago) from his long-term girlfriend (of 4½ years). My ex left me for another guy and I was left with little or no explanations. After that I have made up my own conclusions about it and it totally drives me desperate and seriously depressive.

By my sexual orientation I'm a bisexual and throughout my sexual history I have pretty much been leaning towards women. I've had some homosexual experiences as well but I've never had a relationship with another man (and I'm still unsure how it would feel if I would try it). My ex was the first person in my life that I told about my sexual orientation. She accepted it and we had wonderful years together, or at least I had because I felt loved and "whole" for the first time in my life. I come from a dysfunctional family (alcoholism) and my parents have divorced and I haven't seen or talked with my father for about 10 years now. I also grew in a rather homophobic environment and always felt "wrong" and "bad" about myself as I had crushes and feelings for both sexes.

It wouldn't be too much to say that it took me like 20 years to come terms with my sexuality - it was a long and horribly painful experience even to admit it to myself. But I did it. I moved to a new city to start my studies 7 years ago and it was the milestone for becoming the real "me". The last 7 years have also been the best in my life.