1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cisgender woman?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Nightdream, Jun 15, 2014.

1. Nightdream

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I've been researching for a few months about gender identity, so then I began to wonder if I see myself as a cisgender woman.

I don't see myself as a tomboy, but I'm not a so girly girl either. I actually wished I had more male traits and that I wasn't so afraid to show my masculine side. I don't experience body dysphoria, I'm completely ok when people reffers to me as "she", but I really wanted to befriend some guys and not just girls without feeling like they see me like somebody they can date.
    The way women are sexualised in the media makes me angry because they are putting in people around the world's mind that women are supposed to be sexual objects and not human beings.
    And men? Oh well... That doesn't really happen so often. In the media I usually see them like... Strong, dominant, confident, heroes? Sorry, that's how I see men being show in video games. I'm not into movies and TV shows, y'know?
    Oh, yeah. You can also come up with the names of many female characters that can be as good as the male ones, but they're rare in my opinion. They're often seen like the princess you must save or the strong female lead that has no personality and is extremely hot.

Guess which of them I'd prefer to be if given a choice?

So does that mean that I'm not cisgender? I really doubt that since many women around the world identifies much more with the male characters than the female ones because most of the female character suck.