1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Dazed" and confused: transitioning at 30 yrs old?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by JoshuaTree, Jun 19, 2014.

1. JoshuaTree

Hi all,

I'm new to EC. I've been reading posts on EC for a while now, but I could't bring myself to write. But finally.. Here I am. English isn't my mother tongue, so sorry in advance for any grammar errors (and for the length of this post). I actually post this before in the "LGBT later in life" section but I've been suggested to re-post it here.

I'm a 32 yrs old.. well.. person who has recently started questioning their gender.
    I was born biologically female and, apart from a very brief period of my life (until I was 6 yrs old, when I actually liked skirts and pink) I've always been a tomboy, with short hair and gender-neutral clothes.
    I've never questioned my gender, mostly because I didn't even know that it was something you can really question. What I mean is that I've always wanted to wear men clothes and not having breast BUT I've never actually thought "I want to be a boy". I don't know if it was because I didn't know it was something that was actually possible or because in the end I'm not trans.

During high school sometimes I thought I liked boys because I liked their bodies, even if I always ended up trying to imitate or behaving like the guys I thought I liked. Back then I wasn't educated on the difference between sexual orientation and gender identity, so I thought I was a straight female who actually liked male bodies. That was until I was 19 when I was forced to admit that I didn't actually like to have intimacy with males and that I actually liked women. But I still couldn't explain why even if I didn't want to have sex with men I "liked" their bodies (Was I bisexual?).