1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does anyone else treat clothes like a costume?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by LadyRedRover, Aug 23, 2014.

1. LadyRedRover

I've noticed a strange habit with my clothing choices. I consider myself an androgyne and often wear or mix male and female clothing. I bind and pack occasionally and will even wear makeup to give myself a more 'masculine' or 'feminine' appearance on different days or according to the needs of my 'look'.

What's odd is that, looking through my closet, I realized that most of my clothes are treated as costumes.

For example, I feel like being a swashbuckling, adventurous type one morning, I have a pair of unisex combat boots, a mens' black silk tunic(with laces), and a pair of sparkly leggings.

If I feel like being a fancy dandy, I have a navy blue 'yacht owner' coat with big gold buttons, a blue captain's cap, a bright green dress that is higher in the front with a train, and some strappy heels.

...And the list goes on(I even have a superhero outfit). Now, this isn't really a problem, since I love my clothes, but I've been wondering if this is common among non-gender binary people or, well, anyone besides me lol. I'd love to hear some comments, suggestions, and, perhaps, your favorite 'costume'?

2. I used to feel like dressing really feminine or masculine was like drag. I was just putting on masculinity or femininity like I would a costume.

Now I just kind of figure that putting somewhat arbitrary restrictions on what clothes are for which people just seems silly. So I just don't subscribe to gendered ideas of my own clothing. The rules for who can wear what are ridiculous anyway. All my clothes are all gender neutral items to me because they're mine.
    It's just fun to wear cool stuff no matter what it is. As long as I like it, I can wear it.