1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Questioning - agender, androgynous, or just confused

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by CoyoteCalling, Sep 5, 2014.

1. CoyoteCalling

Out Status:
    Some people
    I'll warn anyone reading that I'm mostly writing to get this off my chest, since I really don't feel comfortable talking to anyone about it IRL. I've been questioning my gender identity on and off for several years now. I'm a female bodied person, but I'm uncomfortable identifying as a woman. I also don't think I would be happy living as a man. It's more like I want to express a mixture of masculine and feminine traits, without them being pegged with a gender label. I don't like people calling attention to my femaleness socially, and would prefer to be spoken of using gender neutral terminology. But I don't really feel uncomfortable with my body as such.

I've at times thought of myself as agender or androgynous. At times this sense of being neither/both is very real to me, and a part of my sense of self. But at other times I wonder if I am just full of baloney, and my gender issues are just a cover for internalized misogyny and homophobia. I also think other people see me as very feminine because I have a very reserved and non-aggressive personality, so I think few if any people in my life would take me seriously as anything but a woman.

It's been on my mind again as of late, probably because I'm thinking of finally coming out to my mother about my sexual orientation, and preparing for it has brought other issues into the fore of my mind. It nags at me that at my age I still haven't figured this out. I'm not even sure what I want for advice, unless anyone has been through similiar issues and wants to say how they worked it out. Again, I needed to get that out, and thank you for "listening" if you managed to read it!

2. Wuggums47

Wuggums47 Guest