1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

explain the non binary genders

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by stocking, Sep 12, 2014.

1. stocking

stocking Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    What is gender queer, agender and bi gender I'm not sure what they mean I would like some one to explain it to me:confused:

2. Kasey

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Well...

My understanding of the non binary is that agender doesn't ascribe to one. Bigender displays aspects of both at will. Genderfluid shifts in a spectrum.

But then again like binary transgender there is a huge variety out there. And each non binary person may have a different definition.

So I'm one voice in the crowd and definitely one who is a binary so I'm not an expert.

3. Nightdream

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Agender: A non-binary identity that is neither female nor male.
    Bigender: When someone keeps shifting to male, then female depending on the situation.
    Genderqueer: Someone that experience gender in a different way by most people. I already made a research about it, but I still can't understand what it means very well.

4. Yosia

Male-------------------------Non Binary-------------------------------Female​

5. AlexTheGrey

It gets used to mean a lot of different things, and acts like a catch all at times. As Kasey says, there's quite a bit of variety out there, and sometimes it is fine to convey a vague idea with a vague label. We already do it with "male" and "female" each trying to cover half of humanity.

The other definitions are pretty close, although again as Kasey says, the labels aren't terribly solid, and different people will see a label slightly differently.