1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dysphoria Worsened After Coming Out?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by RaveOnSpaceboy, Sep 29, 2014.

1. RaveOnSpaceboy

I'm trying to learn to cope with the early days of transitioning.
    Since I came out in mid July things have been nuts, I got a guy's haircut, donated all my old female clothes, and finally just last week saw a gender therapist.
    And even though all of this has been great, and I've been passing full-time for around two months, my dysphoria is actually worse than it was before coming out because now I can't ignore the parts of me that don't align.
    I can't escape this body, I can't do anything about this voice, and I try not to hate these things, but I can't help but feel very depressed about them.
    I'm a very rational person, some even think to a fault, but my logic tells me that I have to be patient, that this is a first step, and however arduous or even humiliating it seems at times, it is movement.
    My best defense has been to set small goals, so that this awkward time of pre-T transitioning is broken up into more managable pieces.
    I talked to my gender therapist about this, and I told her that I wanted to start T in January.
    So I have four months of this phase before I enter the next step.

I guess what I'm asking is, have any other trans people felt their dysphoria become more extreme after coming out/early transition?
    And if so, what sort of things helped you through that, or are helping you now?

Also, I'm new here! So, Hi everyone.

2. Noira

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Oh yes very much, every since I came out to myself and a few others and stop denying it. I've noticed I've gotten loads worse with my dysphoria. I used to be able to brush it off while I was in denial as being nothing more than personality traits.