1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to start a medical transition

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by anann, Jan 4, 2015.

1. anann

I am thinking about surgery. I want to have my breasts removed and I want a hysterectomy, but chest surgery is more important because I have been binding my chest for like 9 years and it is way way too long. Surgery scares me, but my dysphoria is to the point that I think it’s worth it.

The problem is I don’t know where to start. My therapist is aware of my gender identity and, while he has been helpful with my depression and anxiety troubles, he doesn’t know a lot about gender transition. He listens and is interested to learn from me, but I feel like I gave him all the information he has. I finally feel like he knows me enough at this point to work on some things I have a hard time talking about, so I don’t want to switch. And I don’t know that I am going to live here for more than about 6 months when I graduate from school.

I recently switched my main doctor to a clinic that specializes in care for LGBT people, but I don’t think insurance will pay for a second therapist so I can have one that knows about transgender medicine.

I guess my question is where do I go from here? I don’t know who to talk to about what so that I can do this for real. I’m ready now.

2. suninthesky

Do you plan on taking any hormones? Top surgery won't have any effect, but if you have a hysterectomy and they take out your ovaries too you'll need some kind of replacement hormone. It's not too good for the body to go without.

It sounds like you want top surgery to be the next step. I would first find a surgeon whose results you like (transbucket is good), price range is good (if your insurance doesn't cover it), and location is good. See what the surgeon's requirements are, if you need one letter, or two, or none.