1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm new to EC, and was trying to reach out for some advice...

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by aschen, Jan 4, 2015.

1. aschen

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight but curious
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I just recently joined empty closets, and finally decided it was time to reach out to others that could relate to what I am going through. I am 21 year old male, who has recently began to question my gender identity. I have had a history in cross-dressing and until recently, never thought much of it. I remember having interests and impulses to express femininity since the first or second grade, even if it just was something as simple as painting my nails. Although I had these urges, I knew it was "taboo" for me, a young boy, to participate in such activities. On occasion, I can remember wishing that I could be a girl, but I never expressed these feelings verbally.

I broke up with my girlfriend a few months ago, and although she was somewhat supportive of my cross-dressing, I got scared and withdrew from the relationship. Alone, I turned to alcohol and marijuana as a crutch, which I know is not a smart thing to do. I think I was using them to inhibit or suppress some of my true feelings, or as a means of preoccupying my mind from the issues I was trying to sort out. Between stress of the break-up, potentially not graduating college due to my slipping performance, and my ever-demanding work schedule, I did not put any emphasis on exploring the reasons of why I was cross-dressing.