1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Taking hormones in high school

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Bonaparte, Jan 16, 2015.

1. Bonaparte

Bonaparte Guest

Hello, I posted awhile ago about how I was in the process of getting hormones, and I have an appointment coming up soon to start bloodwork and the mental/physical exam. I have this divide now where I'm kind of freaked out about starting hormones in high school because my school is really conservative and religious, but I'm in my last semester and I wouldn't have to deal with it that long. A lot of teachers already know and are supportive, and I don't really talk to any students so half of them already assume I'm a guy. The reason I want to start them now is I have an extremely hard time doing things even like speaking in public or looking at people's faces because I'm afraid they'll know what I am biologically, and I feel like I'm wasting my life by avoiding all forms of interaction. I even put off college a year because I was afraid to be in a group where I wasn't going to pass as a male, and while I had planned to work, now even that is becoming intimidating because I don't feel like I look my gender and age.

I guess what I'm asking is is it normal to feel kind of afraid to start the process, even though you look forward to the results. Like I know it's not the actual changes that scare me, because I always picture myself as an adult male going to college and going on with life- and the thought of being a woman as an adult doesn't even enter my mind, but I'm afraid of the initial starting awkward phase.

Sorry for the long post btw, just looking for feedback.

2. Daydreamer1

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone