1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Could I Be Genderfluid...?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Shinomori, Feb 19, 2015.

1. Shinomori

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight but curious
    (If I misuse any terms or am incorrect in their use, I apologize. I'm very new to all of this.)

To begin, I am biologically a woman and was raised as such. I’ve always been a bit gender non-conforming, but I’ve never questioned myself and gender identity as much as I have in the last several days. The journey started in full force, niggling at the back of my mind, when a close friend came out as gay a few years ago. What I do want is to be honest with that friend, the world, and—most of all—myself.

I present myself as female and often enjoy looking feminine. I have usually taken umbrage to being jokingly called a boy, even though I don’t look like one. It felt like my female-ness was being invalidated. I am not my ideal of female beauty (which isn’t exactly society’s ideal at present, either) and I usually don’t wear makeup (for mixed reasons of not being practiced, it sometimes bothering my eyes, and not wanting to take the time), so I think I’ve always felt a little less than because I often both don’t look and/or feel like I’m “supposed to” as a biological female identifying as the female gender. Yet denying the male/masculine part of me stings a bit. When I protest “I’m not a boy!”, deep down part of me is unrestful. It doesn’t sit right. What that means for me and to me is something that I’m just recently taking a hard look at.