1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Feel Like I'm Pretending

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Amph, Mar 6, 2015.

1. Amph

So I've been questioning my gender since October 2014, it's been a few months and I'm still completely lost. I apologize in advance if I drag on or offend, I'm just looking for some advice.

Lately I've been considering that I might be ftm. I've been growing quite dysphoric over my chest and have made attempts to bind, and have been doing it everyday as of late. (I don't have a legitimate binder, but I've done my research and am certain that I'm binding safely.) I like how I look when I bind, it's more natural to me. When I don't bind I feel like an object.

I try hard to appear male, my hair is cut short and I wear entirely menswear. I like being mistaken for a guy and it annoys me when someone I am with reveals me as female... But that's what bothers me. I say I like being "mistaken" for a guy, as if I am not one myself. Thinking further, I'm not completely sure that I am mentally male... My appearance feels like a costume sometimes (I couldn't not present male, however), like underneath how I look I'm just a girl. My family always tells me that my reasoning and actions are that of a woman, that I am emotionally female. So then I wonder... How do I know what gender I am apart from dysphoria? I don't know what it's like to be male, or do I not know what it's like to be female? I can't see myself as an old man either... but it's also hard to imagine myself as an elderly woman. Sometimes dying male seems like I'd be in the wrong body... but I dont know if I feel the same about being female. Maybe it's a phase and I'm just a tomboy?

...I'm just unsure.

2. Queero

Well, nobody can really answer that but you.