1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Out

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Yamato, Apr 27, 2015.

1. Yamato

Hi

I've used to use this site alot several years ago but stopped. I'm back now and need advice on coming out as trans*.
    I have been figuring this out for almost 3 years now since I found out that being trans* was a thing. I think I have finally accepted it myself but it took a while and I'm still not entirely sure of my gender but I know I'm not female and would like to be alot more masculine.

I now want to come out. Just to a few of my closest friends for now but I don't know how to tell them. There is one friend I want to start with as he was the one who started my questioning of my gender (though he doesn't know that yet) and I will be seeing him at the weekend and want to do it then. I just really don't know how to do it.

Any advice will be very welcome

Thanks
    Yamato

2. Lawlett

Lawlett Guest

I just gotta say... I am quite surprised to find another trans*guy who is also asexual. I did not know any other people like me existed.

On your question. A lot of people say to write a letter when coming out as trans* because it gives you an outlet to fully explain yourself in an organized and well thought-out manner, without being interrupted. You could write it up, and give it to him upon departing.

Another method: You could bring up something in the news about transgender people to see his reaction. Maybe then you could get a conversation going on the topic and just discuss it in a friendly way. If his reaction is bad (but not severe), you could ask him why he felt that way. Get him thinking. If his reaction was good, there is a good chance he'd be accepting.