1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pronouns?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by UnderTheRainbow, Apr 30, 2015.

1. UnderTheRainbow

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    What are some pronouns androgynous people use? I'm pretty sure I am androgynous, and I really don't like she, her, and pronouns like that.

Sorry if I insult you, I am new to all of this.

2. ctrl alt delete

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I use, the singular they, like this: River went to the shops, they bought milk there. They like to put milk on their cereal. (I'm eating breakfast as I'm writing this :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:)

There are other options and some times I wonder if I'd prefer to use something less impersonal like, ze and hir. Which would go like this: river went to the shops, ze bought milk there. ze likes to put milk on hir cereal.

The reason I went with the singular they though is because it seems to be becoming the most popular gender neutral pronoun.

3. Matto_Corvo

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    i have a friend that uses ze/hir or hen.
    and another friend who uses they/their

4. Queero

Lots of people use they (it's singular and plural), and there are many others, the ones I can think of right now: ve/vir, xie/xer (don't know how those are pronounced), and I heard of someone using ghe (Can't think of how to spell that out phonetically, kind of like "jhe" or like "gee" crossed with "shuh" at the beginning).

When I'm in doubt, and want to use a gender neutral pronoun, I just chop off the sh/h, and just go for "e", it makes everything more relaxed, and instead of " 'er" or " 'is" I just make a kind of inbetween sound "uhh", but people understand I'm still referring to a person, so it works. And no one questions this. :slight_smile:

5. Invidia

Invidia Guest