1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Really Depressing News

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by SgtPeppers, May 1, 2015.

1. SgtPeppers

Recently, I got some really depressing news and I don't know how to handle it. I'm 17 right now, and I have been living out as a transman socially for a year, and to family for four years. My father is very unaccepting and sees it as a demonic influence, and obviously with that mindset I've had no success in changing his opinion. I graduated high school a year early (I will graduate this june) so that I could leave for university and establish myself as male, and was planning to just get a single dorm on a residency hall because they are coed. I work a part time job and am financially responsible for myself, but my school won't allow freshman to live off campus, and because I'm 17, I can't sign for an apartment without parental consent (which they won't give). I emailed them and asked, and they told me I will be placed with a female because I'm a freshman and we get last picks for single dorms. This is just so depressing to the point I'm considering not going to university; I was leaving to finally live as my identity, and to be placed with a girl who is going to be uncomfortable around me and flagged as female just by my room placement is really intimidating. I pass as male 100% of the time, which makes it worst because now I will be kind of a freakshow to them. I don't even think there is advice for this, I just have no idea what to do.

2. Matto_Corvo

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey, don't give up hope. Have you explain to the school that you are a trans man and being placed with a female is an affront to your gender as well as your rights?

3. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status: