1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hair is cut. Facing hell.

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by David21201, Jun 10, 2015.

1. David21201

So if you look in my picture on the side here I have gotten my hair cut. Pretty short too.

I'm actually happy with it and my dysphoria hasn't kicked in yet so that's a plus.

My mom is OK with it but continuously tried talking me out of it. My stepdad keeps calling me 'dyke' 'shemale' 'fag' 'justin beiber' and other shit. I mean he's seriously bashing me.

Any help on ignoring him? Also, if you have any styling tips for my hair you can share those too.

Either tomorrow or friday i'll be dying my hair lavender as well

2. juyon

i've been using paste(or gel) to slide mine back and i like it =)

Just try a lot of things in front of a mirror and see what you like.

No idea what to do about you dad... I'm not really good with mine, so my advices wouldn't really work anyway.

3. Friendly Lion

That sucks, man :/ But it's good to hear you got to cut your hair. That's always exciting. I remember when I cut my hair off, and my parents were really upset, but mostly they didn't bully me about it. They just got upset about me looking like a boy really.

Only advice I can give you is that your opinion of your appearance is what matters most. If you think you look good (and I think you look great in the picture btw), that's the important thing. You can't make everyone else happy with your looks all the time :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes: If it gets to be too bad, you can try telling him that you don't like him poking fun at you? Say it's very uncool to call people names just because of how they look. I know that doesn't always work, but it's worth a try. People surprise you sometimes.

That's about all I can say to help, I think. But I hope it goes well and I'm glad you have a hair style now that make you feel more confident :slight_smile: