1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Being a feminine female

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by loveislove01, Jun 14, 2015.

1. loveislove01

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I know, this isn't nearly as serious as other things that people experience based on gender, but I've been suppressing something for a few years, from my family, that I'm feminine.
    It really bothers me though, how my family isn't accepting of that. It sounds kind of weird. I'm born with female genitals, and like presenting feminine, but they disapprove and want me to be more androgynous/ tomboyish.
    I like shopping, pretty clothing, and make-up sometimes. I like doing "girly" things and am very emotional.
    Just, some comments from them affect me.
    Like a month ago, I got into a fight with my dad, and we went into a deep conversation, and once, he said "you're like my son", and often compliments me on my lack of emotion (which is really an act because I want to please them) and happily goes to buy me more androgynous clothing, but when it comes to feminine stuff, he's like "go ask your mom".
    I attended a school dance, wearing what I felt comfortable with, and got many compliments from people that I was pretty, and it made me feel good. But again, my dad had something to say about it.
    "Wow, I don't expect that from you"
    "you know, make-up can give you cancer"
    "Is this really you?"
    "stop trying to be like the other girls. You're fine the way you are."
    I tell him that this is how I am, and I get:
    "You're going through a hormonal phase"
    "You don't understand. Because you are bullied doesn't mean you have to look girlier to fit in"
    "These are the kind of girls who grow up and have too much sex with boys"