1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Binders & Things

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by SabreBear, Jul 2, 2015.

1. SabreBear

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    So I am (hopefully) going to come out as a FtM within the next few months. It's scary to think about, but it's something that I think needs to be done. As everyone calling me by female pronouns is starting to get irksome, even though I know they don't know any better.

But this thread isn't about that.

I am wondering if I could get any tips about binders, and binding tips and safety? I've done a bit of research about how long you should keep a binder on for (most people are saying 8 hours at maximum). Though I have little knowledge outside of that. Where do you get binders? How much do they generally cost? Do they have different kinds (different textures)? (How) Do you clean them? Any pro-tips from other FtM?

Thanks guys!

2. Acm

Acm Guest

I've heard 8 hours too, I usually try to aim for that or less. It's important to pay attention to your body though, if you're in pain or having trouble breathing you should always take it off no matter how long it's been on.

There's many stores online that sell binders, like Underworks, GC2B, and Lesloveboat. There's more, but those are the ones that come to mind immediately.

I've seen price ranges from about $30-70ish. There's some very cheap ones on Amazon and ebay, but I would advise to stay away from those because I've heard bad things about them. Having a good quality binder is important.

There are different textures, I've only bought from two different brands so I can only know for sure about those. Personally I think the GC2B one is more comfortable than the Underworks one (I didn't like the fabric), but everyone has different luck with different brands.