1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Being hired as "female", feels like I'm lying. Is this dysphoria?

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by KaelTail, Jul 29, 2015.

1. KaelTail

So, I had a bit of a weird experience yesterday. I went in for an impromptu "interview" for a computer network technician job that I practically have in the bag. They said, quite plainly, that they need to hire female techs because their demographics look terrible and that they're very excited that I'm interested in the job. Now, I didn't know they were looking for females when I applied and having this come up at the interview was a bit of a shock. I smiled and laughed and put on my "I'm a super professional woman ready to kick ass at this job" interview face (I'm not "out" yet, though this was the first time I'd presented like a female in over a month). I am so excited to have this job, but their words left a very bad taste in my mouth and a lot of questions and uncomfortable feelings floating in my head.

Now, I need this job. Period. I'm currently working part-time with no benefits and no health insurance, barely making enough for rent/student loans/food. I dream of transitioning physically into a more male-presenting body some day, including top surgery and hormones, and my dysphoria is usually mild but can get pretty severe. But now, I feel like if I transition I'm going to be somehow betraying my employer, betraying the feminist movement (I'm all-for equal rights for women), and undermining the strength and ability of women in technology. I'm also really uncomfortable thinking that I'm being hired regardless of my skill level just because it looks good on paper to have "women" working for them.