1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anxious about gender things, help appreciated! (non-binary?)

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Oddsocks, Aug 24, 2015.

1. Oddsocks

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey everyone, I don't know if anyone has any advice about what to do about stressing out about gender-related things? I'm in a situation where I keep being unable to tell whether I'm legitimately nonbinary/genderfluid/whatever the hell and struggling to accept that, or whether I'm a gender non-conforming cis person and struggling to accept that. I think about it way too much at the moment and it is not doing good things for me.

I've been wrangling with this on and off for the past 7 years or so, and for a while I sort of partially went back into the closet about it even with the people who knew, and since I came out again to them (and me) everything's been a bit weird.

I don't know how to be hugely succinct about what's going on because it's so multifaceted. I'm on amicable terms with my body and rarely experience anything I'd describe as dyphoria, but recently binding has become almost necessary some days because acknowledging my body starts making me think about this and it's easier to just hide the evidence and not have to think about it.

All sorts of things have been setting me off - posts (positive or negative) talking about trans or non-binary...anything on tumblr, strongly gendered terms being used for me, seeing people's transition timelines, the morning decision of 'to bind or not to bind' and the evening inevitability of taking my binder off. That's not even all the things.