1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dealing With Others, Ignorance, & Frustrations

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by H20, Jan 25, 2016.

1. H20

H20

Hi! I'm relatively new to accepting myself as a trans male, but once I fully learned what it meant I've connected with the term and it seems like the more days that pass, the more optimistic yet frustrated I get toward my life.

While my family does support me, I don't think they really understand and I've noticed now some relatives are just speaking at me, not to me, and seem to be avoiding saying my name and all pronouns altogether. I understand the switch is going to take awhile, but to completely avoid it is just rude, and I'm more concerned with switching my name before enforcing male pronouns. Some people don't get why I want to change my name because my birth name is actually unisex, but I don't know how to explain it to them other than I'm disconnected from it and now when I think of someone using my birth name I get kinda... I guess it makes me extremely dysphoric generally.

Also, I do come from a very teasing, joking family, but the sarcasm borderlines onto crude and insensitive at times, which makes it more difficult to explain things to them that I've been acutely aware of every little comment they make toward me since I've come out and some things they say really get to me. For example: "A new name is too hard to remember" or "Your birth name is perfect since it's for both boys and girls, I don't see why you want to change it." Then there's the issue where one person in particular at home just continues on using my birth name excessively even after I politely correct him, but he ignores me because he thinks it funny.